selling with holts

We strive to make the process of selling your gun very straightforward. Simply contact Holt’s and we will do the rest. With a global network of representatives, regular free regional Valuation Days and arranged home visits, it is simple for you to receive a bespoke service tailored to your needs at a time and place which suits you.

We can provide you with a no commitment appraisal, our suggested reserve value and estimate for auction, or valuation for insurance if required. Once you are satisfied we can consign the items, our specialists will guide you through the process of notifying the correct authorities, keeping the whole process as stress-free as possible.

Overseas clients can enjoy the same bespoke service by liaising with our International representatives and dedicated import agents who will deal with the entire importation process for you, enabling the auction of your items in the UK a very simple and enjoyable experience.

Vendor information

Terms & Conditions

Before taking part in any of Holt's auctions please first download and read our terms and conditions: Terms & Conditions

Licensing

If the items consigned are licensable, please inform your Firearms Licensing department that these items are now with us, pending entry into the next appropriate auction. This is purely an informal notification to keep your firearms department informed of the whereabouts of your firearms. Official notification and the removal of the firearm(s) from your license will take place after they have been sold. You will receive a reminder to do this on your post-auction settlement statement.

auction Procedure
Items consigned will be processed and entered into the most suitable of our three auction platforms; a quarterly ‘live’ auction, its counterpart silent auction or one of our monthly online only auctions.

You will receive a pre-auction advice by email or post which will confirm the items entered for auction, their respective Lot numbers and reserve figure (if applicable). Our minimum Lot fee is £11.50 (plus VAT) per lot so under some circumstances, lower value items may be grouped together to make a Lot commercially viable.

Whilst we endeavour to enter all items into the next available auction, under some circumstances consignments may be spread over more than a single auction cycle.

After the auction you will receive a post auction advice informing you of the results of auction. This is now the time to notify your Licensing authorities of firearms now sold.

Unsold Items
Any items remaining unsold at the close of a live or sealed bid auction will automatically be listed on our website for a period of two weeks under ‘buy it now’ conditions at the agreed reserve level.

If any items remain unsold from the live auction after this period, you will be contacted to discuss the potential options with regard to re-entry or return.
Unsold items from silent or online auctions will automatically be re-entered into the next with a 25% reduction in estimate and reserve unless we receive specific written instructions to the contrary


Free valuation days

Holt’s tour the country ahead of each quarterly auction holding free valuation days, rather in the manner of ‘The Antiques Roadshow’. The days are fairly informal and hopefully informative, and are primarily intended as points of consignment to the next auction. However, we are also happy to carry out valuations for the sake of interest, together with insurance and probate requirements(a charge may be made for the last two services if required in writing).

The days are hosted by two experienced members of staff, who will be able to tell you something about the item you have brought along, and we are always keen to hear of family or related provenance, it is often of interest and can have a highly beneficial impact on the value. We will then suggest a realistic catalogue estimate and reserve (if you are minded to sell) together with a likely hammer price.


To aid the smooth-running of the day we run on an appointment system. This should ensure that you have a degree of privacy and that you’re not kept waiting before meeting one of the team.

To make an appointment then please telephone: 01485 542822

We will be visiting the following venues:


Friday 30th June - Sunday 2nd July
GWCT Scottish Game Fair
Stand G46, Scone Palace
Perthshire, PH2 6BD
GWCT Game Fair

Wednesday 5th July
Bisley at Braidwood
Midlem, Nr. Selkirk
Scottish Borders, TD7 4QD
Scottish borders

Thursday 6th July
Nags Head
Pickhill, Thirsk
North Yorkshire, YO7 4JG
North Yorkshire

Monday 10th July
Hessett House
Beyton, Bury St. Edmunds,
Suffolk, IP30 9AH
Suffolk

Tuesday 11th July
The Peat Spade Inn
Longstock, Stockbridge,
Hampshire, SO20 6DR
Hampshire

Tuesday 11th July
Plume Of Feathers
Mitchell, Newquay
Cornwall, TR8 5AX
Cornwall

Tuesday 11th July
West London Shooting School
Sharvel Lane, Northolt
Middlesex, UB5 6RA
Middlesex

Wednesday 12th July
Sharpenhyrst Farm
Itchingfield, Horsham
West Sussex, RH13 0NN
West Sussex

Wednesday 12th July
Fisherman's Cot
Bickleigh,Tiverton
Devon, EX16 8RW
Devon

Thursday 13th July
Greenfields Shooting Grounds
Sturry Hill, Sturry
Kent, CT2 0NG
kent

Thursday 13th July
The Crown Hotel
West Street, Blandford Forum
Dorset, DT11 7AJ
Dorset

Tuesday 18th July
Cholmondeley Arms
Wrenbury Road, Cholmondeley,
Cheshire, SY14 8HN
Cheshire

Wednesday 19th July
Riverside Hotel
Pennal, Machynlleth
Powys, SY20 9DW
Powys

Thursday 20th July
The Three Salmons
Bridge St., Usk
Monmouthshire, NP15 1RY
Monmouthshire

Friday 21st July
The Estate Office
Pinfold Lane, Walcott
Lincolnshire, LN4 3SN
Lincolnshire

Friday 28th - Sunday 30th July
The Game Fair
Stand Number TBC
Hatfield House, Hertfordshire, AL9 5NQ
The Game Fair
   


Holt’s Auctioneers is represented globally, please contact your nearest Office for further information:

british offices


Mark Forster
North East
T: +44 (0)1665 602659
M: +44 (0)7970 184092
northeast@holtsauctioneers.com
David Thurgood
West Country
T: +44 (0)1297 306123
M: +44 (0)7775 814262
westcountry@holtsauctioneers.com
Chris Meachin
Cheshire, Shropshire & North Wales
T: +44 (0)1925 601237
M: +44 (0)7836 645118
cheshireshropshirenwales@holtsauctioneers.com

Mark Johnson
Yorks, Lancs & Cumbria
T: +44 (0)1482 426435
M: +44 (0)7947 858857
north@holtsauctioneers.com


Darren Burtenshaw
Channel Islands
M: +44 (0)781 165044
channelislands@holtsauctioneers.com


Roger Thomas F.R.I.C.S.
South Wales
T: +44 (0)2920 346370
M: +44 (0)7768 232334
wales@holtsauctioneers.com

John Prince
Sussex, Surrey & Kent
T: +44 (0)1403 733735
M: +44 (0)7800 745321
sussexsurreyandkent@holtsauctioneers.com
Charles Dingwall
Northern Home Counties, Hampshire,
Wiltshire & Gloucestershire
T: +44 (0)1235 868227
M: +44 (0)7768 768587
homecounties@holtsauctioneers.com

Bertie Rutherford
Southern Scotland
T: +44 (0)1450 850607
M: +44 (0)7598 813305
scottishborders@holtsauctioneers.com

Harry Gordon
South East (Including Section 5 weapons)
T: +44 (0)1268 685414
M: +44 (0)7956 385191
southeast@holtsauctioneers.com

Martin Price
Derbyshire, Staffordshire
T: +44 (0)1335 330823
M: +44 (0)7889 163242
midlands@holtsauctioneers.com

Ian Bonner
Scottish Highlands & Inverness
T: +44 (0)1466 700308
M: +44 (0)7714 052117
scotland@holtsauctioneers.com

Martin Davy
Essex & Hertfordshire
T: +44 (0)1621 854433
M: +44 (0)7767 481461
essexandherts@holtsauctioneers.com

Simon Grantham
Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire
T: +44 (0)7860 300055
Fax: +44 (0)1526 660241
lincsandnotts@holtsauctioneers.com

Richard Zawadski
Northern Scotland, Orkney & Shetland Isles
T: +44 (0)1856 811738
M: +44 (0)7889 854385
scottishislands@holtsauctioneers.com

Ivor Cowan
Northern Ireland
T: +44 (0)28 8778 9533
northernireland@holtsauctioneers.com

Richard Harvey
Northamptonshire
T: +44 (0)7975 669555
northants@holtsauctioneers.com

Richard Jones
Mid Wales
M: +44 (0)7889 225488
midwales@holtsauctioneers.com


european offices


Germany & Austria
Ralph Paschen
T: 0049 171 53 44054
sr007@gmx.com
germany@holtsauctioneers.com

Hungary
Andras Szollar
T: 0036 84 322 949
hungary@holtsauctioneers.com

Spain
Mike Bailey
T: 0034 959528771
spainwest@holtsauctioneers.com

Italy
Massimo Orsi
T: 0039 3352 46289
italy@holtsauctioneers.com

Norway
Morten Kjus
T: 0047 915 96296
norway@holtsauctioneers.com

Russia - Moscow
Boris Kheyfits
T: 007 985 767 4826
russia@holtsauctioneers.com

Sweden
Jan-Olof Swanteson
T: 0046 3515 4571
sweden@holtsauctioneers.com

Netherlands
Erik de Groot
T: 0031 652 407 094
netherlands@holtsauctioneers.com

Russia - St. Petersburg
Albert Kozlov/Nicholas Lomonosov
T: 007 812 328 4848
russianorth@holtsauctioneers.com

Switzerland
Peter Kammermann
T: 0041 (0)4149 30378
switzerland@holtsauctioneers.com
Cyprus
Michael Anaissy
T: 00 33 66074 16 02
cyprus@holtsauctioneers.com
Irish Republic
David Brennan
T: 00353 86255 8103
ireland@holtsauctioneers.com
Brennan press article

Denmark
John Bitz-Nielsen
T: 0045 5250 2430
denmark@holtsauctioneers.com

Spain
Beltran Cotoner/Fernando Saiz
T: 0034 62901 7589
spain@holtsauctioneers.com

Portugal
Rui Pereria
T: 00351 256 330 800
portugal@holtsauctioneers.com

Belgium
Koen Appermont
T: 0032 (0)89 411139
belgium@holtsauctioneers.com

France
Cornelis 't Mannetje
T: 0033 77855 7993
france@holtsauctioneers.com

France
Bobby Van der Putten
T: 0033 622 933 638
francenorth@holtsauctioneers.com

Czech Republic
Lubomir Sip/Petra Sipova
T:0042 (0)777227 212
czech@holtsauctioneers.com

Slovakia
Lubomir Sip/Petra Sipova
T: 0042 (0)777227 212
slovakia@holtsauctioneers.com

Turkey
Ömer Borovali
T:+9 (0) 212 324 47 91
M : +9 (0) 532 311 95 23
Turkey@holtsauctioneers.com
     

worldwide offices


South Africa
Charles Montgomery
T: 0027 21 797 8787
southafrica@holtsauctioneers.com

Canada - West
Cary Stricker
T: 001 306 628 3281
canadawest@holtsauctioneers.com

Brazil
Ricardo Freire
T: 0055 112 666 4774
brazil@holtsauctioneers.com

Azerbaijan
Ömer Borovali
T: +9 (0) 212 324 47 91
M : +9 (0) 532 311 95 23
Azerbaijan@holtsauctioneers.co


Canada - East
Leslie A.Paul
T: 001 905 697 0949
canadaeast@holtsauctioneers.com

Japan
Itsuo Imamura
T: 0081 45 231 2561
japan@holtsauctioneers.com

USA
Lars Magnusson
T: 001 307 7335450
usa@holtsauctioneers.com

Australia
David Handyside
T: 0061 885385388
australia@holtsauctioneers.com

Pakistan
Farhan Anwar
T: 0092 4272 30831
pakistan@holtsauctioneers.com

New Zealand
Rick Stephens
T: 0064 27 284 9795
newzealand@holtsauctioneers.com

Australia - East
Danny Ryan
T: 0061 416 149259
australiaeast@holtsauctioneers.com

Qatar
Ömer Borovali
T: +9 (0) 212 324 47 91
M : +9 (0) 532 311 95 23
Qatar@holtsauctioneers.com

Iceland
Johann Vilhjalmsson
T: 00354 894 1950
iceland@holtsauctioneers.com

China
Leo Zhou
T: 006421 163 9918
china@holtsauctioneers.com

United Arab Emirates
Ömer Borovali
T:+9 (0) 212 324 47 91
M : +9 (0) 532 311 95 23
Uae@holtsauctioneers.com